Bank of America announced on August 12, 2026 that its Critical Infrastructure Finance Initiative will measure $250 billion of eligible U.S. infrastructure activity from January 1, 2026 through July 4, 2027. Its FAQ says progress will be based solely on primary-market lending, investing, capital-markets and advisory transactions. Those are different transaction states, and the measurement window began more than seven months before the announcement. The headline is therefore an initiative target, not evidence of a $250 billion project-finance facility or cash available to any borrower.
For a project treasurer, the control question is document-level: what amount is contractually committed to this borrower or project, what portion is currently drawable, and what cash has settled? An advisory appointment, indicative term sheet or internal credit approval may advance a financing, but none should enter base liquidity as funded or draw-ready. The public materials do not disclose project allocations, attribution rules, overlap across transaction types, facility terms or current progress against the target.
What changed and what it means
Treating the initiative target, an advisory mandate or a proposal as liquidity can overstate available funding and understate the residual financing gap.
- Decision affected
- Decide which Bank of America-linked transaction evidence may enter a project funding plan as committed, drawable or funded.
- Evidence in brief
- Bank of America says the target is measured from eligible primary-market lending, investing, capital-markets and advisory transactions from January 1, 2026 through July 4, 2027.
- What remains unresolved
- The public materials do not disclose project allocations, attribution or overlap rules, advisory valuation, current progress or borrower-level draw terms.
- Next verification
- Require an executed project-specific instrument, current conditions-precedent status, availability confirmation and settlement evidence before updating liquidity.
Key takeaways
- Bank of America’s $250 billion figure is an 18-month eligible-activity target, measured from January 1, 2026 through July 4, 2027.
- The target spans lending, investing, capital-markets and advisory transactions, so it is not one pool of committed project funding.
- Treasury should record committed, currently drawable and funded amounts in separate states supported by executed documents and current availability evidence.
- Project allocations, counting attribution, overlap rules, advisory valuation and progress at announcement were not disclosed.
What Bank of America announced and what the target measures
The initiative covers digital infrastructure, energy and power infrastructure, and core infrastructure such as transportation, transmission, water systems, critical minerals and mining. The release also describes wider banking and supply-chain support, but its measurement FAQ is narrower: progress will be measured solely from eligible activity in primary-market lending, investing, capital markets and advisory transactions.
That wording matters because the total can combine transactions with different cash and risk consequences. A balance-sheet loan can create a lender commitment, a bond underwriting can place third-party capital, an investment can take several legal forms, and an advisory mandate can generate activity without providing project cash. The public FAQ does not say how each category is valued or attributed to Bank of America.
The aggregation model also has a precedent. Bank of America’s earlier sustainable-finance reporting described a $1.5 trillion goal through 2030 and said the company had mobilized and deployed approximately $250 billion of sustainable-finance activity in 2021. The new initiative says its measurement will be consistent with that methodology. What changed on August 12 is the creation of a separate U.S. critical-infrastructure target and period, not evidence that $250 billion became newly committed on that date.
Why the $250bn headline is not committed project funding
A project can be eligible for the initiative without having a financing allocation. A bank can also advise, arrange or underwrite a transaction without committing the full transaction value from its own balance sheet. Even within lending, a proposal, approved credit case, executed commitment, available draw and funded loan are not interchangeable.
Federal Reserve reporting guidance uses the contractual date of a credit agreement as the point at which a commitment to lend generally becomes legally binding, and its wholesale reporting framework keeps committed exposure separate from funded balances. That guidance is a regulatory reporting reference, not a substitute for the project’s documents or legal advice, but it illustrates the control principle: an activity target does not establish a borrower’s enforceable amount or current ability to draw.
The defensible treasury position is narrow. Do not put any part of the $250 billion into a project’s sources-and-uses schedule merely because the project falls within an eligible sector, Bank of America is advising it, or a financing discussion is active. Count only the status supported by evidence for that named borrower, project and facility. The Vantage IPO proceeds analysis applies the same test to a possible valuation, gross offering size, issuer net proceeds and settled cash.
A seven-stage funding test for project treasury
| Stage | Minimum evidence | Treasury treatment |
|---|---|---|
| Initiative target | Announcement, eligibility scope and measurement period | Market and financing-pipeline context only; no project amount |
| Advisory mandate | Engagement letter or appointment defining the service | Track the process and fees; record zero committed funding unless a separate financing instrument exists |
| Indicative financing | Proposal or term sheet with amount, structure and assumptions | Scenario source only; exclude from base liquidity |
| Credit-approved but unsigned | Approval notice or underwriting decision, with documentation still open | Conditional pipeline; no borrower-level committed amount yet |
| Executed commitment | Signed commitment letter or credit agreement naming parties, amount, allocation, term and cancellation rights | Committed capacity, subject to document terms and legal confirmation; not automatically drawable |
| Currently drawable amount | Conditions precedent satisfied, no blocking default or drawstop, current undrawn availability confirmed | Include in near-term liquidity only to the amount and date expected to be available |
| Funded cash | Valid draw notice, settlement evidence and bank-account receipt | Recognize in cash and reconcile to the facility and project ledger |
The exact legal point at which a commitment becomes binding depends on the instrument and governing law. A signed commitment can still contain conditions, expiries or cancellation rights, while a fully executed facility can remain unavailable to draw. Treasury should therefore preserve both the legal commitment status and the operational availability status rather than collapse them into one “secured funding” field. The Wabash ABL availability waterfall supplies a signed-facility example: the $300 million commitment still sits above borrowing-base limits, reserves, usage and a temporary $40 million block.
What can enter sources and uses and the liquidity forecast
The project funding model should carry at least four separate measures. Committed capacity is the executed amount allocated to the project. Current availability is the portion that can be drawn after applying conditions, expiries, cancellations, borrowing limits and drawstops. Expected funded cash is a dated forecast for a valid draw. Cash received is the settled amount in the controlled account. None of those fields should use the initiative-wide $250 billion figure.
Reuters reported Bank of America infrastructure head Karen Fang saying U.S. infrastructure construction loans typically run for five to seven years and are often refinanced with longer-term debt after projects become operational. That lifecycle reinforces the need to keep construction commitment, current draw availability, funded debt and later refinancing as separate records.
The data-center financing readiness gate adds the project-level dependency test: permits, power, sponsor equity, construction milestones and lender conditions can leave signed debt unavailable. Treasury should link the facility register to the conditions-precedent tracker and near-term cash forecast, with one owner for each blocking item and a dated evidence source.
What Bank of America has not disclosed
The announcement does not provide a project list, borrower allocations, transaction-level amounts or current progress against the goal. It also does not explain whether the measured value is total deal size, Bank of America’s lending or underwriting share, another attribution basis, or a combination that varies by transaction type.
The public materials do not state how advisory transactions will be valued, whether one project can contribute through more than one category, how overlap with the existing $1.5 trillion sustainable-finance goal will be presented, or how cancelled, refinanced or restructured transactions affect the total. The absence of those details does not prove that no funding has been committed. It means the initiative figure cannot prove how much committed, drawable or funded capital exists for any project.
What project treasurers should request before counting funding
- the executed commitment instrument, named parties, amount, currency, tenor, expiry, cancellation rights and governing law;
- the borrower and project allocation, permitted uses and any syndication or underwriting limits that change the available amount;
- the conditions precedent, equity-funding sequence, drawstops, covenant tests, permits, insurance and milestone evidence required for each draw;
- a current facility-agent or lender availability confirmation, including undrawn amount, fees and any blocked or reserved portion;
- the expected draw and settlement dates, receiving account and reconciliation owner; and
- the evidence date and person authorized to change committed, drawable and funded status in the treasury model.
Through July 4, 2027, the useful updates will be methodology disclosures, transaction examples and executed project documents, not repetition of the headline target. Until those records exist, project treasury should treat Bank of America’s $250 billion initiative as financing-market context and count funding only at the state the project’s own evidence supports.